Laurianne Desmarais-Gilbert

NextGen - Moguls
FIS Athlete Profile

Statistiques rapides

Âge: 24

Lieu de naissance: Brossard, Québec

Ville d'origine: Sainte-Adèle, Québec

Équipe nationale depuis: 2018

Club d'origine: Saint-Sauveur

Commanditaires: Zipline, Redbull SPECT Eyewear, Kastle, La ski shop

Faits saillants de sa carrière:

  • Championne en bosse simple et parallel au championnats nationaux senior 2019
  • Championne de la Coupe du Canada 2018

Provenant d’une famille de skieurs passionnés, Laurianne a débuté le ski à un très jeune âge. Lorsqu’elle commençait son apprentissage en ski, elle cherchait toujours les pentes les plus à pic et les plus étroites ainsi que les sauts en bord de piste. Sa mère a été la première à lui montrer comment descendre dans les pistes de bosses, mais à l’âge de 10 ans, la montagne locale a ouvert un club de ski de bosses et Laurianne l’a rejoint. 

Au début, Laurianne skiait simplement par plaisir, mais vers l’âge de 16 ans, elle a réalisé qu’elle voulait skier à un plus haut niveau. Elle a donc augmenté son volume d’entraînement et a éventuellement rejoint l’équipe du Québec. Ces années passées comme athlète provinciale sur l’équipe du Québec furent les plus belles de sa vie puisqu’elle avait la chance de voyager avec ses amis. 

Après quelques années, Laurianne perdit certaines amies qui délaissèrent le sport de compétition pour poursuivre des études universitaires. N’étant pas encore prête à arrêter le ski et voulant accomplir plus, Laurianne doubla ses efforts à l’entraînement ce qui lui permis, en 2018, d’obtenir une place sur l’équipe nationale. 

Lorsqu’elle n’est pas sur ses skis, Laurianne aime faire du camping et de la randonnée. Son aliment préféré est la crème glacée.

@freestylecanadaski

Canada Own the Podium Toyota B2ten Mackenzie Investments Canadian Olympic Committee Anta

Laurianne Desmarais-Gilbert

NextGen - Moguls
FIS Athlete Profile

Quick Facts

Age: 24

Birth Place: Brossard, Québec

Hometown: Sainte-Adèle, Québec

National Team Since: 2018

Home Club: Saint-Sauveur

Sponsors: Zipline, Redbull SPECT Eyewear, Kastle, La ski shop

Career Highlights:

  • 2019 Val St-Côme Senior Nationals champion for single and dual moguls
  • 2018 Canada Cup champion

Laurianne comes from a skiing family, so naturally, she started skiing at a very young age. As Laurianne learnt how to ski, she was always looking for the steepest slopes, narrowest glades and any jump where she could catch some air time. Laurianne’s mom spent time teaching her how to ski bumps, but at age 10 the local ski hill started a mogul club and Laurianne decided to give it a try.

At first, Laurianne was only skiing and competing for fun, but when she turned 16, Laurianne realized that she wanted to take her skiing to the next level. Laurianne started to spend extra time training and eventually made it onto the Québec provincial team. These were some of Laurianne’s best years of her life, where she got the opportunity to travel with friends and enjoy being a provincial team athlete.

After a few years, Laurianne was at an age where her friends would retire from competitive skiing and move on to university. Laurianne was simply not ready to stop skiing and wanted to accomplish more in her young career. Laurianne doubled her training efforts and eventually got rewarded with a spot on the National Team in 2018.

When she is not skiing, Laurianne loves to go camping and hiking, and her favorite food is ice cream!

@freestylecanadaski

Canada Own the Podium Toyota B2ten Mackenzie Investments Canadian Olympic Committee Anta